Welcome to Lancashire County Senior Ladies' Golf Association

About Us

The Veteran Ladies' Golf Association, Lancashire Branch, was founded in 1931 by Mrs Issette Miller (Royal Lytham & St. Annes) and Mrs. A. Whitehead (Formby Ladies'). Mrs. Miller, who founded the Ladies Golf Union and the first handicapping system for women and men in the UK and USA, was the first Captain.​

In December 2013 the name of the Association was changed from the Lancashire County Veteran Ladies' Golf Association to the Lancashire County Senior Ladies' Golf Association to reflect our increased life span in the 21st century, and the more favourable connotation of the word "Senior" rather than "Veteran".


Our Association is dedicated to providing all of our members with the opportunity to play fun golf at a very reasonable cost. We now have six 18 hole team events, plus a 9/18 hole team event, all played in fours to ensure that members have enjoyable days out. ​

We also run individual competitions, the prime one being our Championship, which is a three day event. The first day is a medal with both scratch and handicap prizes, and then the best 16 scratch scores go onto to play matchplay over the next 2 days. The Champion leads out the Richardson Trophy team against all the other five Northern Counties.

Our other individual event is the Silver Slipper, which is a stableford for members who are over 65.


At first there were only 2 strokeplay competitions, the Spring and Autumn Meetings, which were started in 1934 and continued as eighteen hole Medals until 1938. Now there are nine meetings annually:

  1. The Championship, which was first played at Formby in 1938.
    The format of the Championship is an 18 hole Medal Round for players with handicaps of 20.4 and under. The best 16 players qualify for matchplay over two days. The Championship Trophy is a silver salver, and the Runners Up Trophy is also a silver salver, presented by the Association in 2008.
  2. The Silver Slipper was presented by Lady Fell MBE JP, in 1949. This was an 18 hole strokeplay competition for members aged sixty five and over with a best gross and age category nett prizes. In 2013 the format was changed from a medal to a stableford.
  3. The Cecil Leitch Trophy is a Bronze Stag given by Miss Cecil Leitch. The competition was started in 1963 as a medal round using five clubs only. In 2008 this competition became a 5 club better ball stableford.
  4. The Ivy Hosker Meeting was started in 1976 for the Bronze Division as a medal round. The Trophy - a Lady Golfer was presented by the Association in 1995. In 2009 this became a better ball stableford competition and in 2012 was changed to a Team of Four Stableford Event due to popular demand.
  5. The Early Summer Meeting was introduced in 2011, due to overwhelming demand for our Team of Four stableford events.
  6. The Summer Meeting was introduced in 1963 as a Foursomes Stableford event and in 1999 became a Team of Four stableford competition, with the best two scores to count on each hole.
  7. The Mid Summer Meeting started in 2004 and is Team of Four stableford competition, with the best two scores to count on each hole.
  8. The Edith Barlow Autumn Meeting - at first this was an eighteen hole strokeplay competition, then a greensome and now a Team of Four event, with the best two scores to count on each hole.
  9. The 9/18 Hole Autumn Team Event, introduced in 2016.