THE CAPTAINS YEAR BOOK

1954 - 1969

THE VETERAN LADIES' GOLF ASSOCIATION

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

The Veteran Ladies' Golf Association Founded in 1931 by Mrs T. H. Miller and Mrs A. Whitehead.

BOOK II CAPTAINS

1954	Mrs A. E. Gardner	West Lancashire G. C.
1955	Mrs A Coates	Ryl. Lytham + St Annes -
1956	Mrs D. N. Stewart	Ryl. Birkdale "
1957	Mrs G. E. Openshavv	Ryl. Lytham & St Annes.
1958	Mrs A. Chambers	Wholley
1959	Mrs M. Cheetham	Ormskirk
1960-61	Miss J.D. Firth	Formby Ladies'
1962	Miss E. Corlett	Ryl. Lythami St. Annès
1963	Mrs W.G. Williamson	West Derby
1964	Mrs B.M. Newton	Royal Birkdale
1965	Miss E. Shutt	Pleasington
1966	Mrs K.P. Taylor	Manchester
1964	Mrs H. W. Garforth	Blackpool Nth-Shore
1968	Mrs A. R.G. Robertson	West Lancashire
1969	Miss M.C. Stewart	Penwortham

BOOK I PRESIDENTS

1951-65

5 Lady Fell

1966 - 68

Mrs Forbes Cooper

1969-71

Mrs G. E. Openshaw.

VICE - PRESIDENTS

1950-57

Miss L. Jones.

1950 - 66 - 70

Mrs P. Schofield.

1959 - 65

Mrs Forbes Cooper.

BOOK I SECRETARIES

1948 - 64

Mrs Forbes Cooper

1965 - 68

Miss E. Corlett.

1969

Mrs H. W. Garforth.

BOOK I TREASURERS

1934 - 57

Miss L. Jones.

1958 - 68

Mrs G.E. Openshaw.

1969 - 75

Miss E. Corlett.

Championship Trophy - see Book I - 1938 Silver Slipper Trophy ~ see Book I ~ 1959 Richardson Trophy - see Book I - 1950







1954 Mrs A.E. Gardner (Dora)

West Lancashire G.C.

1948 County Captain. County Champion - 1908
County Treasurer - 1910

MATCHES

Richardson Trophy won by Laneashire
for first time since the
inauguration in 1950

North v South at West Hill - South won
East v South-East Lanes. v South West > North West Lanes.

at Clitheroe.

CHAMPIONSHIP TRUPHY - WINNER Mrs M. Brooks.

Spring and Autumn Meetings as usual with Silver Slipper

VETERANS ASSOC. CHAMPIONSHIP - WINNER MISSE. Corlett.

County Captain - Mrs D. Redmayne.

See Book I. p.l.



IRST of the 1954 crop of champions is Miss Elsie Corlett who captured the Veteran Ladies' Golf Association championship at Royal Wimbledon when she defeated Mrs. Sturgess-Wells by 3 and 1 in the 18 holes final. Enid Wilsen ~ May 1954.

ELSIE





1955 Mrs A. Coates (Dorothy E.)

Royal Lytham vSt Annes G.C.

Captains' badge introduced. (see 1987-larger photograph.)

MEETINGS. Championship Trophy - winner Mrs D. Wood.

Silver Slipper ~ Mrs Hickson had won trophy 5 times Winners Mrs Fairbairn Suggested that small memento be Mrs Almond given to her.

MATCHES. NORTH V SOUTH at Starbeek ~ NORTH WON "Jamboree" Started 1960.

RICHARDSON TROPHY ~ Cheshire Won.

143 Members of the Association.

County Captain
Miss Frances Stephens.
(later Smith)

Circular sent to all hancashire G.Cs. - re the Association and its activities.



Mrs Stewart's photograph Taken in 1970 in Antigua with her godehild. +>

1956 MRS D. NORMAN STEWART (Ethel) died 1988,
Royal Birkdale G.C.
1965 - County Captain

MATCHES | North v South at Royal Wimbledon G.C. - South won Richardson Trophy ~ Yorkshire won.

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY - WINNER Miss Jessie Firth

Fee for Meetings raised to 3/6.

Silver Slipper ~ Winners Spring-Mrs Fairbairn Autumn-Mrs Critchley.

Membership ~ 203 ~ 60 new members - good response from County Captain-Miss E. Shutt.

County Captain-Miss E. Shutt.



(Mrs Openshaw in the cream coat see pholograph.)

1957. MRS G. E. OPENSHAW (Gladys) died 1975.

Royal Lytham + St Annes G.C.

President ~ 1969 to 1971. Hon Treasurer ~ 1958 to 1968.

MATCHES.

NORTH V SOUTH at Mere C.C. ~ North won.

Two hancashire players - both won their singles + foursomes.

RICHARDSON TROPHY ~ Cheshire won

VERERANS & COUNTY at Ryl. Lytham - County won.

MEETINGS

CHAMPIONSHIP ~ WINNER MISS J.D. Firth.

SILVER SLIPPER ~ See book ~ played for at

Hon Treasurer - 1934-57 - Miss L. Jones - died. County Captain - Mrs H. Garforth. Spring Autumn Meetings Winners & Mrs Cheetham Mrs Fairbairn





but a good likeness " she writes. died/186 aged 94

1958 MRS J. CHAMBERS (Annie E.) J.P. Whalley G.C.

1951 County Captain
County President.

MATCHES. Richardson Trophy ~ Yorkshire won

North v South at Royal Mid Surrey ~ South won

Miss J. Firth (Lanes) won both her matches.

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY - WINNER MISS M. Barron

Silver Stipped Winners - Mediums Mediums. Record entry 112 for Spring Meeting.

New Treasurer - Mrs Openshaw. (Miss Ltayd Jones Treasurer 1934-54)

AGM. - NORTHERN COUNTIES: Any member can attend but only 2 from County Captain - Mrs Haslam. Fox Each county can vote.



1959 - Mrs M. Cheetham (Muriel)
Ormskirk G.C.

MATCHES. North v South at Gosforth Park-North won Richardson Trophy - Yorkshire won

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY ~ WINNER Miss J. Firth

Spring and Autumn Meetings Silver Slipper Winners
Mrs Forbes Cooper - Hon Secretary for Il years - elected Vice President
Mrs K. P. Taylor represented S.E. on the Committee.

County Captain ~ Mrs E. Morland.

THE MILLER STIRLING TROPHY.

The V.L.G.A Divisions JAMBOREE Trophy
given by Mrs Miller Stirling Captain V.L.G.A (South) 1960-61.

Scratch Matches between Northern, Midlands, Southern and Scottish Divisions.

* See [Book III 1982 Jamboree at Royal Birkdale, Book II 1962 " Ryt Lytham + St Annes.