THE CAPTAINS YEAR BOOK

1960 - 1964

THE VETERAN LADIES' GOLF ASSOCIATION

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

The Veteran Ladies' Golf Association Founded in 1931 by Mrs T. H. Miller and Mrs A. Whitehead.

BOOK II CAPTAINS

1954	Mrs A. E. Gardner	West Lancashire G. C.
1955	Mrs A Coates	Ryl. Lytham - St Annes -
1956	Mrs D. N. Stewart	Ryl. Birkdale "
1957	Mrs G. E. Openshavv	Ryl. Lytham & St Annes.
1958	Mrs A. Chambers	Wholley
1959	Mrs M. Cheetham	Ormskirk
1960-61	Miss J.D. Firth	Formby Ladies'
1962	Miss E. Corlett	Ryl. Lythami St. Annès
1963	Mrs W.G. Williamson	West Derby
1964	Mrs B.M. Newton	Royal Birkdale
1965	Miss E. Shutt	Pleasington
1966	Mrs K.P. Taylor	Manchester
1964	Mrs H. W. Garforth	Blackpool Nth-Shore
1968	Mrs A. R.G. Robertson	West Lancashire "
1969	Miss M.C. Stewart	Penwortham

PRESIDENTS BOOKI

1951-65

Lady Fell

1966 - 68

Mrs Forbes Cooper Mrs G. E. Openshaw. 1969-71

VICE - PRESIDENTS

1950-57

Miss L. Jones.

1950 - 66 - 70

Mrs P. Schofield.

1959 - 65

Mrs Forbes Cooper.

SECRETARIES BOOK I

1948 - 64

Mrs Forbes Cooper

1965 - 68

Miss E. Corlett.

1969

Mrs H. W. Garforth.

TREASURERS BOOK I

1934 - 57

Miss L. Jones.

1958-68

Mrs G.E. Openshaw.

1969 - 75

Miss E. Corlett.



```
1960 and 1961 Miss J.D. Firth (Jessie)

County Champion 1982.83.37 Formby Ladies G.C.

MATCHES 1960 (Jamboree at North Berwick ~ South won THE MILLER STIRLING TROPHY.
NORTH SOUTH MIDLANDS AND SCOTLAND.
See photograph - back page 1961
Richardson Trophy ~ Durham won

1961. (Jamboree at Deal ~ South won see photo
Richardson Trophy ~ Yorkshire won Mearter
CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY (1960 - winner Mrs D. Wood

1961 "Mrs H.W. Garforth (North Shore)

Invitation from North Wales to play a match.

1960 A.G.M. (Tributes paid to Mrs Matthew Clark & Mrs W.P. Scott:
Membership 271 (Subscription 5/)
Mrs A Blears ~ Committee member for S.E.

County Captains (1961 ~ Mrs C.D. Greenhalgh.
1960 ~ Mrs Gerrard.
Silver Slipper 1960 ~ May Mrs Edmeston Sept Mrs Cranshaw
1960 ~ May Mrs Gregory Sept ~ Mrs Merrill.
```





*Miss Corlett - 3rd from right - middle row (Jamborce photograph) ->

Miss Elsie Corlett. 1962

(died 1988)

Royal Lytham & St Annes GC. 1938 won Championship at Aldeburghy reached Final of Amateur Championship. Played in Curtis Cup Matches. I Lancashire County Matches. 1939 Captained England in International Matches 1965 in Holland Lancashire County Captain - later President and Honary Life Member of Laneashire County. Captain of Curtis Cup Team

Captain V.L.G.A Northern Counties 1962 Captain of Lance Veterans
Thon Secretary V.L.G.A. Lancashire Branch Championthip 1965-69 Hon Secretary V. L. G. A. Laneashire Branch. 1949-45 Hon Treasurer President 1980-82 Won V.L.C.A Championship (a country member)

MATCHES! Richardson Trophy - Yorkshire won

Jamboree (Miller Stirling Trophy) at Royal Lytham ~ North won. (North Team Members - Reece. Wood Corlett, wolff. Barratt Marwood Team Members (Richardson Trophy) - " Harriey (see photograph) -> Reece Barron, Garforth Sergeant Corlett, Wood, Brierley Jones Firth. Wood, Bankes, Newton: Scounty Captain

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY - WINNER Mrs A Reece Membership 323: Silver Silpper - May - Mrs Merrill: Sept. ~ Mrs Walansee next page
Miss Cecil Leitch offered Miss Corlett a Trophy

Proposed that a Booklet be adopted for Fixtures. V. L. G. A. Northern Division - Mrs Subil Smith - Secretary 1962-1971.



7

MATCHES Richardson Trophy ~ Lancashire won

Team Members ~ Barron, Morland, Reece, Newton, Corlett
Garforth, Sergeant, Wood,

Jamboree (Miller Stirling Trophy) at Woodhall Spa
~ South won

Team Members ~ Hartley Reece, Wood, Barron, Walson
Corlett Marwood, A. Christian Jones,

CHAMPIONSHIP SALVER ~ Winner Miss M. Barron May - Dt Neville
Supra Miss Gow

CECIL LEITCH TROPHY introduced (see opposite page) at fairhaven G.C.

A bronze stag at bay ~ French (Animaliers)

Summer MEETING Introduced. Foursomes ~ held at Formby Ladies GC.

Now H. MEETINGS ~ Spring Summer, Autumn of Cecil Leiten Trophy.

Captain's Luncheon introduced.

County Captain ~ Miss E. Corlett.





THE CECIL LEITCH TROPHY.

A Bronze Stag at bay-French (The Animaliers)

5 Clubs (including a putter) Medal Competition (Best Nett.)

given by Miss Cecil Leitch ~

~ 1958-9 Captain V.L.G.A (South) ~ 1963-66 President V.L.G.A.

~ Ladies Open Championship winner 1914, 1920, 1921, 1926.
~ English Ladies' " " 1914 + 1919 at Ryl. Lytham, and st Anges

The winner has her name engraved on the plinth, and gives a prize for the winner the following year.



Lancashire Champion 1921, 1924-6 Open Championship Semi-finalist 1923. 25.39.

Northern Champion - 1938

Runner-up English Championship Semi-finalist. 1934-35

English Internationalist. 1930, 1933 - 37.

1964 ~ MRS B.M. NEWTON (Beryl.)

Royal Birkdale.

County Vice-President.

MATCHES - Richardson Trophy - Yorkshire won,

Team Members: Barron, Morland, Reece, Corlett, Garforth

Sergeant, Brierley Jones Taylor & Bankes.

Jamboree - Miller Stirling Trophy at Eleneagles

Team Members: Morland Barron, Hartley, Wood

Corlett, Drake, Wolff, Garforth, Scotland
Won.

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY - winner Miss M. Barron. Silver Supper- May-Mrs Harewald: Sept. Mrs Harewald

Mrs Forbes Cooper (a vice President Jesigned as Secretary 1964.

Secretary 1948-1964.

Miss E Corlett elected Secretary of the Association (1965-68)

Membership 39% at 5/ subscription Scounty Captain -Mrs M.C. Reece.

318 in bank a/c.
Badges of the Association for Sale. Rule's revised, and printed in the Booklet. See last page. Age of Admission 50 to 55 rejected. (1963)