THE CAPTAINS YEAR BOOK

1965 - 1969

THE VETERAN LADIES' GOLF ASSOCIATION

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

The Veteran Ladies' Golf Association Founded in 1931 by Mrs T. H. Miller and Mrs A. Whitehead.

BOOK II CAPTAINS

1954	Mrs A. E. Gardner	West Lancashire G. C.
1955	Mrs A Coates	Ryl. Lytham + St Annes -
1956	Mrs D. N. Stewart	Ryl. Birkdale "
1957	Mrs G. E. Openshavv	Ryl. Lytham & St Annes.
1958	Mrs A. Chambers	Wholley
1959	Mrs M. Cheetham	Ormskirk
1960-61	Miss J.D. Firth	Formby Ladies'
1962	Miss E. Corlett	Ryl. Lythami St. Annès
1963	Mrs W.G. Williamson	West Derby
1964	Mrs B.M. Newton	Royal Birkdale
1965	Miss E. Shutt	Pleasington
1966	Mrs K.P. Taylor	Manchester
1964	Mrs H. W. Garforth	Blackpool Nth-Shore
1968	Mrs A. R.G. Robertson	West Lancashire
1969	Miss M.C. Stewart	Penwortham

BOOK I PRESIDENTS

1951-65

5 Lady Fell

1966 - 68

Mrs Forbes Cooper

1969-71

Mrs G. E. Openshaw.

VICE - PRESIDENTS

1950-57

Miss L. Jones.

1950 - 66 - 70

Mrs P. Schofield.

1959 - 65

Mrs Forbes Cooper.

BOOK I SECRETARIES

1948 - 64

Mrs Forbes Cooper

1965 - 68

Miss E. Corlett.

1969

Mrs H. W. Garforth.

BOOK I TREASURERS

1934 - 57

Miss L. Jones.

1958 - 68

Mrs G.E. Openshaw.

1969 - 75

Miss E. Corlett.



1965 ~ Miss Eileen Shutt.

Pleasington G.C.

1956 ~ County Captain

1957 ~ E.L.C.A. Chairman ~ Northern Division.

1963-65 ~ L.G.U. Chairman.

MATCHES ~ (Richardson Trophy ~ Lancashire won (1965-67)

Team Members: Barron Garforth, Morland, Sergeant, Reece
Taylor, Wood, Newton.

Jamboree at Worplesdon - South won.
Team Members: Barron, Morland, Reece (Lancs) Wolff (Ches)
Hartley, Hornby, Wood (Yorks)

MEETINGS. ~ [Championship Trophy ~ Winner Miss M. Barron.

Other Meetings as usual (see 1963) { Silver Slipper May - Miss Hindle.

Sept - Mrs Bromley.

Mrs Abraham - President of E.L.G.A.

MISS E Corlet English Captain - European Team Championship in Holland.

\$398 in Bank a/c Membership 463.

V. L. G.A. Northern Division - Mrs A. Smith (Sybil) (Yorks) - Secretary 1965-71. V. L. G. A. Southern Division - Middlesex raised age of entry to 55 yrs. County Captain - Mrs O.N. Stewart.







1966 ~ MAS K. P. TAYLOR (Betty)

MANCHESTER . LANCASTER G.Cs.

1969 - County Captain

(Photograph taken in 1969 when Lancashire won the English Countres Trophy.)

1944 - Captain V. L.GA Northern Countres

1984 - President of Laneashire County.

MATCHES - Richardson Trophy - Lancashire won

Team Members: McClausland, Taylor, D. Wood, Morland Barron Sergeant, Garforth, Reece, Haslam Fox.

Jamboree - Miller Stirling Trophy at Royal Liverpool - South won.

Team Members: - Barron, Morland, Reece, Sergeant (Lancs) > A Christian Jones, Wolff (Ches) Hartley (H) Wood (Vorles.)

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY - Winner Mrs J. Morland:

Autumn Meeting at West Lanes as a Foursomes for first time.

(Silver Slipper

Mrs Forbes Cooper elected President (1966-8) Mrs Parkinson - May Mrs Browley - Sept Membership 472 - Limited to 500.

Ex-Captains' Brooches ordered 12@f3.16 beach (see snapshot)

Veteran Ladies G. Assoc. Northern Countries - Captain: Mrs. H. Dickinson

President-Mrs Allsopp.

V.L.G.A. AGM in London - Tamboree donation (1951-1967) Each County pay to Northern Division from each division - expenses, per too members. \$10 instead off5.

County Captain - Mrs O. H. Brown J.P.







Tamborce team number

Team meants as 1960 - 1979 Ver Changeins 1961 Secretary 1969

1964 - Mrs H. W. GARFORTH (Marjorie) (ded 2002)

Royton: North Shore Blackpool: Ormskirk

1957 - County Captain

Jamboree Team Member 1973. Vels' Team Member 1960-1979 ; Vels' Champion 1961

MATCHES: Richardson Trophy - Lancashire won.

Team Members: Morland, Barron, Sergeant, McClausland, Garforth, Boswell, Taylor, Reece.

Jamboree - Hunstanton - South won. Team Members - Morland, Barron, Sergeant Garforthy Reece (Lancs) H. Wood (Yorks) Wolff (Cheshire)

Miss E Corlett - Captain V. L. G.A. Northern Division

CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY~ MPIONSHIP TROPHY ~ WINNER Mrs J. Morland . (Spring Meeting)
Other Meetings - Summer (Foursomes) Ceal heith Trophy and Autumn (Foursomes)
Silver Supper - May - Mrs Browley & Sept. Mrs Waites

Miss E. H. Yates (Bunny) - Competition Secretary for 1967.

MISS E Corlett - SELGA Selection Committee Member.
V.L.G.A. (Northern Counties) President (Mrs George Brown (Cheshire) 1968-County Captain - Mrs Sloss.



* Mrs Robertson wearing Past-Captain's brooch in photograph.

1968 ~ MRS A.R.G. ROBERTSON (Marie I.) died West Lancashire G.C.

Team Member 1955-59.

MATCHES ~ Richardson Trophy ~ Northumberland won.

Team Members: - Barron, Winders. Reece, Morland, Boswell Taylor, Wood, McClausland, Dickinson , Sergeant.

Jamboree (Miller Stirling Trophy) at Gleneagles North won.

Team Members: - Barron, Reece, Winders , Sergeant (Lancs) Burton (Nth Humberland) Wood, Barker (Yorks) Kershaw (Ches)

MEETINGS. ~ Championship ~ winner Miss M. Barron

Silver Slipper Competition ~ only 2 entries in Sept.

Autumn Meeting ~ Foursomes (Yentries) Autumn Meeting ~ Foursomes
also Sammer + Cell Leitch Trophy Meetings.

Past Captains Mrs Abrahama Mrs Forkes Cooper (President) died.

Waiting hist for Membership - 30

Entry fees increased 10/ singles 15/ foursomes.

Mrs Openshaw resigned Secretaryship - Miss Corlett - Tie asurer Mrs Carforth - Secretary Treasurer) Cour County Captain

Mrs. H.W. Bankes Mrs Schofield - Vice President (from 1950. - 1966. - 70

V. L. CA. Northern Counties - President Mis George Brown (Ches) 1968-70 (Captain Mrs N. Wilkinson (Northumberland

Rule 3 (alterations) Subscriptions to be paid by Mar. 3187 of herwise deemed (ACM 1907) see last page to have resigned and must re-apply for membership.



The Presidents brooch.



Miss M.C. Stewart (Morna) died 1977. 1969 Penwortham G.C.

MATCHES

Richardson Trophy ~ Laneashire won (1969-72)

Team Members: - Barron, Winders, Reece, Haslam-Fox, Taylor, Sergeant, Boswell, McClausland, Garforth.

Jamboree - at Wentworth ~ South won

leam Members - Barron, Reece Sergeant Boswell (Lancs) Wood Barker (Yorks) Burton (Northumberland) * Doris (Boswell) and a hole in one.

MEETINGS.

Championship winner Mrs Haslam-Fox.

Cecil Leitch Trophy - winner Mrs Clegg - see 1963. Silver Slipper & Winners at Spring : Autumn Meetings

The President - Mrs Openshaw wore the President's Brooch. Membership - 500 (the limit) Subscription 25p (decimal currency) The Secretary ~ Mrs Garforth ~ resigned. County Captain - Mrs K. P. Taylor



Laneashire Veterans.

- 3 Elsie Corlett.
- @ M. Barron
- 1 Alison Reece
 - @ Jessie Firth.
 - 3 Marjorie Garfin