THE CAPTAINS YEAR BOOK 1976 - 1980

THE VETERAN LADIES' GOLF ASSOCIATION

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

LANCASHIRE BRANCH

The Veteran Ladies' Golf Association
Founded in 1931 by Mrs T.H. Miller and Mrs A. Whitehead

BOOK III CAPTAINS

1970	Mrs A. Blears	North Manchester G.C.
1971	Mrs A.G. Reece	Formby Ladies' " "
1972	Mrs O. H. Brown J.P.	Grange-over-Sands
1973	Mrs J. D. Sergeant	Formby Ladies"
1974	Mrs A. Nutter	Rochdale " "
1975	Mrs H. W. Bankes	Royal Birkdale " "
1976	Mrs J. V. McCoy	Stand
1977	Mrs A. Boswell	Preston, and Laneaster
1978	Mrs G. S. Booth	Saddleworth " -
1979	Miss M. Elliot M.B.E.	Knott End and Fleetwood "
1980	Miss W. M. Gardner J.P.	Morecambe
1981	Mrs K.J. Gregory	Southport and Ainsdale .
1982	Mrs E. Barlow	
,,,,,,		Ryl. Lythamist. Annes + Sadollevvorth
1983.	Mrs C. Cheadle	Bolton Old Links and
		Morecambe
1984	Mrs A. Gill	St. Annes Old Links "

BOOK III PRESIDENTS

1969-71 Mrs G.E. Openshaw 1972-74 Miss D. Watson 1975 Mrs E.T. Bromley 1976-78 Mrs J.H. Toulmin 1979-82 Miss E Corlett. 1983-85. Mrs J. V. McCoy.

VICE - PRESIDENTS

1950-40 Mrs P. Schofield

SECRETARIES

1970-76 Mrs A. Boswell 1977-81 Mrs E. Barlow 1982-83 Mrs M. E. Hind 1984-91 Mrs F. E. Renwick

TREASURERS

1969-75 Miss E. Corlett 1976-87 Mrs A. Nutter





* Photo taken at Stand G.C. ~ "Bell Cup Final When Mary was President of Manchester and District Ladies Golf Assoc.

1976 ~ Mrs J. V. MeCoy (Mary) (died 1986)
Stand G.C.

1983-85 ~ President-Lancashire Branch V.L.G.A.

MATCHES. ~ Richardson Trophy ~ Cheshire Won. Team Member:

Jamboree - Miller Stirley Trophy - Guillane I. South won.

Team Members: - Metatyre (Jean) Yorks) Walmsley (Lancs) Burton (Nth H) Taylorson (Ducham) Bennett Whitehead.

Veterans (Lancs) v Lanes Mens Senior G. Assoc-North Wales V Symptotalch. cancelled - bad weather. (Championship - winner Mrs G. J. Kay (Ryl Lytham) Silver Slipper - see book - Mrs V. Riley (North Manches Fel)

MEETINGS. Salver lost in transit from
Jewellers - insured
new one bought
(book 1:1938 Ceeil Leiteh ~ Mrs M. McMillan Stand.

Bronze Meeting started of in July - hefore the 5 Club.

Summer Meeting always held at Formby Ladies previously,

NEW PRESIDENT - Mrs J. H. Toulmin - 1976-78 (Betty.) Withington.

NEW TREASURER - Mrs A. Nutter. (died 1988)

New Committee Members - [N.W. Mrs.C. Richardson (Heysham S.E. Mrs. A Blears North E. Mrs J. A Smith (Stand) S.W. Mrs E Tinker (Fornis)

County Captain - Mrs N. Kidson (Pleasington) Northern Counties V.L.GA President - Mrs N Baker (Northumberland 1949-48



1977. ~ Mrs A. Boswell (Doris) Lancaster and Preston G.Cs. (Became President 1993.4) 1983 - County Captain 1970-76 Secretary - V. L.G.A. Lancaster Branch. MATCHES. - Richardson Trophy - Northumberland Won.

Team Members - Harvey Sumner, Hind, Riding Reece
Sergeant, Kidson, Garforth and the Captain ... 1973. Jamboree ~ West Hill (Surrey) ~ South won Team Members: The Captain (MIS Boswell) Summer, Hind. (Lance) Veteran Ladies v Senior Gentlemen - Seniors won
B Team (County) & N. Wales matches as usual. MEETINGS: Championship ~ Winner Mrs P.M. Harvey (Hugton Y Prescot) (sweeps ended) Silver Slipper - Mrs E. Tinker (Formby hadres) Ceeil Leitch ~ Mrs Alison McKenzie-Bolton hostock Sporma, Summer and Bronze Meetings. Sweeps stopped NEW SECRETARY - Mrs E BARLOW 1944-81 New Committee Members: N.W Mrs M Garfooth (NThs. Blpl.) E. Mrs Whittake COUNTY CAPTAIN - MRS A NUTTER. (V. LEA Treas. 1976 - a Capt Affaydook Pk.)
New Supply of Past. Captains' Badges ordered from Mappin Webb.
(original eye for brooch with Alexander Clarke) 24 - £325. now hold the die * CAPTAIN V. L. GA. Northern Counties - Mrs K.P Taylor (Lancs)
(Mrs Baker - President Mrs Lewis - Secretary Trees.) * Miss Cecil Leitch died in October 1944 (donor of the Trophy and always interested in the affairs of the Lancs. Veterans.)

(Rylling Mrs H Nichalson (Fram) made a Vice Pars don't of the County Nov. 1977

(Rulhythan) Mrs H Nichalson (





Connie Suthering

1978 — Mrs G. S. Booth. (Helen)

(Photo - Mrs Booth, second from left, seeted.) Saddleworth G.C.

1984 — County Captain (County Shields Representative for the S.E. for the years.)

MATCHES — Richardson Trophy — Lancashire won.

Team Members: Summer, Hind, Boswell, Riding,
Garforth, Ridson, Wright (Nell), Reece, Creek.

Jambolee - Miller Stirling Trophy — Darlington (Durham)

Team. Members: Scotland won.

MEETINES. (Championship winner Mrs S. Summer Hugton Rescot Silver Slipper "Mrs J. E. Cheadle Bolton O. hinks.

Sping. Summer - Bronze Meetings as usual.

New Committee Members: N. W. Mrs Hand (kinstell Bury) S. W. Mrs A. Roberts (Rochdole E. Mrs G. Entwiste (Bury) S. W. Mrs A. Roberts (Rochdole E. Mrs G. Entwiste (Bury) S. W. Mrs A. Roberts (Rochdole E. Mrs G. Entwiste (Bury) S. W. Mrs A. Roberts (Rochdole E. Mrs G. Blears - another year replacing the Captain.

County Captain - Mrs Riding (I.G.) (Margery)

County President - Mrs M. Garforth.

V.L.GA Northern Counties Captain - Mrs C Suthering (Durham)

A.G.M. - Proposal to raise age of entry to Assoc. to 55 yes defeated:





1949~ Miss M. Elliot (Peggy) M. B. E (died 1990) Knott End and Fleetwood-

MATCHES - Richardson Trophy - Durham won.

Team Members: Summer Hind, Wright, Boswell, Bourne Cheadle, Riding, Garforth, Stockton, Ball.

Jamboree ~ Copt Heath ~ South won

Team Members: Summer & Hind (Lancs) Eadie & Holden Whitehead, Alexandra, Scott, Burton (Ches.)

MEETINGS - Championship Winner Mis S. Sumner Huy Box Prescot

Silver Slipper "Mrs A. Richardson (Morecambe

Cecil Leitch "Miss C.M. Wright (Stand)

Bream (County) = N. Wales marches as usual)

NEW PRESIDENT MISS E COIRLETT 1949-82 (Stayed extra year
Jamboree at Birkdale

Membership - S44 admissions (2 low handicap players) "101982.)

Membership - [47 admissions (2 low handicap players) 144 on waiting list for entry to Assoc. County Captain.

V. L. G. A. Northern Countres ~ [New President Mrs Taylorson (Durham) President - Mrs. N. Baker Clast you in office

New Committee Members N.W. Mrs A. Boswell (Lancaster) S.E. Mrs J.E. Cheadle (Botton OL E. Mrs N. Kidson (Pleasington) S.W. Mrs K. J. Gregory (S+A.)





1980 Miss W. M. Gardner J.P. (Winnie) Morecambe.

Matches - Richardson Trophy ~ Cheshire won.

Team Members: Kay, Moore, King, Hind, Oakes, Summer Cheadle, Stockton, Ball, Bos well.

Jamboree - Miller Stirling Trophy at White Craigs ~ Scotland won.

Team Members: Stockton King, Moore & Summer (Lancs)

Meetings - {Championship - Winner Mrs G. J. Kay (Ryl hythan v St Anne)

Silver Slipper - " Mrs Parkinson (Manchester)

Cecil heilch Spring Sundmer and Bronze J Meetings as usual

NEW COMMITTEE MEMBERS - N.W. Mrs C. Howard (Penwortham S. E. Mis C. Booth (Saddlenth)

E. Mrs G. Ford (Worsley) S. W. Miss Toyee Richardson

Increase in funds due to Raffles & increased Entry fees for Competitions.

206 on the Waikinghist. Etka Extra funds needed for Jambsree 1982.
1989-82.

V. L. G A Northern Counties - President Mrs H. Taylorson (Mary) Durham Captain - Mrs Heather Sowden (Yorks

County Captain ~ Mrs J. M. Mc Cartney

